16 October 2018

Nobel Chemistry Prize for protein development

Home page Science
12 Punto 14 Punto 16 Punto 18 Punto

U.S. scientist Frances H. Arnold, fellow American George P. Smith and British scientist Sir Gregory P. Winter were awarded on Wednesday with the 2018 Nobel Chemistry Prize for "the directed evolution of enzymes" and for "the phage display of peptides and antibodies." reports citing Daily Sabah.

"This year's Nobel Laureates in Chemistry have been inspired by the power of evolution and used the same principles – genetic change and selection – to develop proteins that solve mankind's chemical problems," the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement on awarding the 9 million Swedish crown ($1 million) prize.

Arnold won one half of the 9 million prize money, while Smith and Winter shared the other half.

Chemistry is the third of this year's Nobels and comes after the prizes for Medicine and Physics were awarded earlier this week.

2018.10.03 / 14:40
See also

UFC fans fuming over McGregor - Photo

UEFA commits extra 50 per cent to growing women's game

Militants kidnap 14 servicemen in Iran

3 people killed during collision of battle planes

US envoy Mike Pompeo to meet Saudi Arabia's king - Video

Ceasefire monitoring is ended with no incident

Saudi authorities preparing report on K.Jamal's death

"It was foolish not to invite me to national team"

20 FETO suspects arrested nationwide

Baku hosts week of the Italian language

Xocalı soyqırımı — 1992-ci il Bağla
Bize yazin Bağla