Tajani elected as new European Parliament head

Home page Politics
12 Punto 14 Punto 16 Punto 18 Punto

The European Parliament (AP) has elected Italian conservative Antonio Tajani as its new president to replace German Social Democratic politician Martin Schulz.

"#EPlenary has elected Italian @Antonio_Tajani (EPP) as the new president of the European Parliament," AP said on its official Twitter account on Tuesday.

Tajani was elected in the fourth round of voting as three rounds saw no absolute majority of votes. He won 351 votes against 282 for Gianni Pittella in the fourth round.

Speaking after the announcement of the results, Tajani said he dedicated his success to the victims of the 2016 earthquake in Italy and called on unity in Europe

2017.01.18 / 09:59
See also

Armenian deputies made an illegal visit to Karabakh

Azerbaijanis will return to Armenia - Alaverdyan

The OIC condemned the Armenian provocation

President received Ramtane Lamamra

Armenia is an obstacle to peace - Minister

Azerbaijani President’s working visit to Turkiye ends

Jeyhun Bayramov met with his Algerian colleague

MFA announced its solidarity with Cuba

A dinner was held in honor of the officials in Konya

There is still no final result in this regard - Bayramov

Xocalı soyqırımı — 1992-ci il Bağla
Bize yazin Bağla