Axar.Az Logo

UEFA unveils Fans' Teams of the Year 2020

Home page Sports
12 Punto 14 Punto 16 Punto 18 Punto

UEFA announced the Fans’ Teams of the Year 2020 on Wednesday, with the men’s side dominated by Bayern Munich and the women’s by Olympique Lyonnais. reports that some 6 million votes were cast after more than a month of polling that ended earlier this month, as fans chose from shortlists of 50 players from clubs in UEFA’s 55 member associations in 2020.

This was the first time that fans were given the opportunity to select a women’s Team of the Year.

German giants Bayern Munich, winners of the 2020 Champions League, have five players in the Men’s Team of the Year, including Spanish midfielder Thiago Alcantara, who has since moved to English champions, Liverpool.

Barcelona, Real Madrid, Manchester City, Liverpool, Juventus, and Paris Saint-Germain each have players in the squad.

For superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, who is now playing for Juventus, this was the 15th appearance in the Fans’ Team of the Year and his 14th in a row.

The Fans’ Women’s Team of the Year features six players from 2020 Champions League winner Olympique Lyonnais.

The players represent six different clubs and seven countries, with France leading with five nationals.

2021.01.22 / 09:51
See also

Fenerbahce struggle to get home draw, Ozil injured

Police arrest ex-president of Barcelona football club

Schalke sack sporting management for poor results

Barcelona beat Sevilla

Former world rally champion Mikkola dies

Inter Milan reports multiple coronavirus cases

Turkey, Norway match moved to Spain

Manchester City beat Arsenal

Inter claim 3-0 away win in Milan derby

Messi set a new record at Barcelona

Xocalı soyqırımı — 1992-ci il Bağla
Bize yazin Bağla