Axar.Az Logo

Iran’s Larijani reelected as parliament speaker

Home page Politics
12 Punto 14 Punto 16 Punto 18 Punto

Iranian parliamentarians on Sunday reelected Ali Larijani as the speaker of the parliament for the 12th consecutive year. reports citing Tasnim.

During an open session of the parliament on Sunday morning, the lawmakers voted to choose members of the legislature’s presiding board.

Larijani, the long-standing head of the parliament, remained in the post by garnering 155 out of 274 votes.

Mohammad Reza Aref, a reformist figure, and Mohammad Javad Abtahi, a conservative politician, also ran for the post but could not win more than 105 and 9 votes respectively.

The Iranian parliament currently has 290 representatives, changed from the previous 272 seats since the February 18, 2000 election. The last parliamentary polls were held on February 26, 2016.

The lawmakers take the seats for a four-year term.

The Zoroastrians and Jews each elect one representative in the parliament, Assyrian and Chaldean Christians jointly elect one representative, and Armenian Christians in the north and the south are each represented by one lawmaker.

2019.05.26 / 15:58
See also

Bahceli shared about the liberation of Shusha

Ilham Aliyev spoke with Erdogan

Another border violation: Kocharyan came to Khankendi

Trump finds Facebook, Instagram accounts unblocked

Ayvazyan spoke with the British minister

Armenia must answer in international courts - MFA

Lavrov will meet with Polad Bulbuloglu

Bayramov spoke with his Finnish counterpart

Bayramov discussed Moscow statement with Lavrov

All martyrs' families will be given apartments and houses

Xocalı soyqırımı — 1992-ci il Bağla
Bize yazin Bağla