A criminal case was opened for Armenians' provocations

Home page Official News
12 Punto 14 Punto 16 Punto 18 Punto

Armenian armed units stationed in occupied Azerbaijani territories has grossly violated the norms of international humanitarian law by intensively shelling Azerbaijani army positions and populated areas along the front line with heavy artillery pieces.

A statement issued by the Prosecutor General’s Office says that on April 27 and 28 Armenian armed forces carried out provocations by shelling Azerbaijan’s Aghdam and Terter districts with heavy artillery pieces from occupied Azerbaijani territories in order to deliberately cause fatalities among civilians and destroy their property.

As a result of the shelling, a citizen of Aghdam district’s Chemenli village Famil Mustafayev died.

Moreover, six residents of the district’s Garadaghli and Efetli villages were injured.

One of the injured is in critical condition.

According to the statement, dozens of houses, schools and other social facilities were destroyed in those villages, as well as in Terter district’s Gapanli, Hasangaya, Gazyan and Gaynag villages.

Aghdam and Terter district prosecutor’s offices launched criminal cases over these facts.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

2016.04.29 / 10:00
See also

Saudi Arabian Border Guard Service arrives in Azerbaijan

Azerbaijan MoD falsified Armenia's information

Ilham Aliyev is visiting Switzerland - Photo

Pietro Parolin will visit Azerbaijan

Azerbaijani Defence Minister holds an official meeting

Ilham Aliyev spoke with the President of Germany

Ilham Aliyev receives Italian Defense Minister

The Russian army occupied this settlement

Armed border violator was shot in the border with Iran

MoD and Military Prosecutor's Office's joint action plan

Xocalı soyqırımı — 1992-ci il Bağla
Bize yazin Bağla