Axar.Az Logo

EU to sanction 3 states for not honoring refugee program

Home page World
12 Punto 14 Punto 16 Punto 18 Punto

A top European Union official says that legal action will be launched Wednesday against the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland for failing to honor their pledges to accommodate refugees. reports citing Daily Sabah.

European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker said that "for more than a year now they have not been taking any refugees at all," under a two-year program to share 160,000 refugees.

Juncker said: "That gives us no choice other than to initiate infringement proceedings against these countries today."

The relocation scheme is a major plank of the EU's migration policy, and was lauded as a pan-European show of solidarity in 2015 when more than a million migrants entered Europe.

But just three months before the scheme's end date in September, fewer than 21,000 people have been relocated.

The plan to share 160,000 refugees in overwhelmed Italy and Greece among other European countries was endorsed by a "qualified majority vote", roughly a two-thirds majority.

The Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania and Slovakia voted against the scheme. Hungary and Slovakia have launched their own legal action against it.

"It's a question here of observing European law, it's not a question of sanctions," Juncker told EU lawmakers in Strasbourg, France.

He added that "European solidarity cannot be a one way street."

2017.06.14 / 17:12
See also

White House is preparing new sanctions against Russia

Official results of e-voting: Pashinyan is a leader

Turkey, Afghanistan, Iran hold trilateral meeting

It all depends on Moscow's behavior - Sullivan

The Husseins hit a U.S. UAV

Erdogan: Turkey to leave COVID-19 behind soon

Elections are over in Armenia

Election of a leader is a signal to world powers - Bennett

If London shows will, Putin will agree - the Kremlin

The latest condition of the ship hit by Atmaca - Video

Xocalı soyqırımı — 1992-ci il Bağla
Bize yazin Bağla