Axar.Az Logo

Georgian parliamentary elections start

Home page World
12 Punto 14 Punto 16 Punto 18 Punto

Georgia started elections for the parliament on October 8.

The voting process started at 08:00am at 3703 polling stations in all regions of the country.

President Giorgi Margvelashvili cast his vote at polling station No.6 in Mtatsminda constituency of Tbilisi, Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili at polling station No. 24, Speaker of the parliament David Usupashvili at polling station No. 54 in the capital’s Saburtalo district, Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary General of the ruling Georgian Dream-Democratic Georgia (GDDG) Kakha Kaladze at the polling station in Art Gymnasium.

Kvirikashvili congratulated the people on the occasion of the important day: I surely support the future of the country and its stable democratic development for the sake of prosperous living of our citizens. I also support the soonest economic development of Georgia, healthy youth, high education. I am happy and hope that this way will lead us to a pleasant future.

From the opposition leaders United National Movement party’s leader David Bakradze, Free Democrats leader Irakli Alasania also cast their votes.

65-year old Huseyn Minasazov cast the first vote at polling station No.3 in compact settlement of Azerbaijanis in Marneuli. He said he voted for peace, prosperity and development of the country. Ruslan Hajiyev nominated by Georgian Dream - Democratic Georgia Party cast a vote at polling station No.14 in Azizkend village of Marneuli district. Representatives of the UK embassy in Georgia and Democratic Unity Institute are observing the elections.

Head of polling station No.22 in Marneuli, Koba Azanidze told APA that polling stations No.35 and 36 created in compact settlement of Azerbaijanis are open for 98 000 voters. “Voters are casting votes in 89 polling stations in the villages of Marneuli. 10 Azerbaijanis and 8 Georgian registered as candidates from Marneuli,” he said.

19 political parties and 6 blocs are registered for the parliamentary elections in Georgia. In Georgia’s mixed electoral system 77 seats in 150-member Parliament are allocated proportionally under the party-list contest among the parties and election blocs. Rest of the 73 MPs are elected in 73 single-member districts, known as “majoritarian” mandates.

2016.10.08 / 12:59
See also

Earthquake jolts southern Iran

Biden will agree to military action against Iran - Mally

The price of gas in Europe has risen sharply

The West has given Ukraine $40 billion in aid - Blinken

Update on personal visit visas

The US has created an intelligence group on China

Day 280: Russia announces Ukrainian losses

Russia is testing it in the war - Shoigu

Armenia buys "Konkurs-M" missiles

Biden, Macron ready to talk Ukraine, trade in state visit

Xocalı soyqırımı — 1992-ci il Bağla
Bize yazin Bağla